What I’ve learned this week…

Wow! What a couple of weeks it’s been!

I am disheartened that so many of our media still “report” (and I use the term loosely) just what they’ve been handed (most likely from either Big Oil or from lobbyists) on how “safe” frac’ing is…..they clearly are not doing any research of their own…

There are so many reports from various people, grass roots groups, other news media, etc. that if our local news was doing even a modicum of self-research they’d be bound to be asking questions about the blather they’ve been reporting so far.

Also, one of the circulators I spoke to yesterday told me she’d asked two women if they would sign the petition to put a ban on fracking on the November ballot and they both answered they’d have to see what their husbands thought. Two women, two different times, same sort of response. I don’t know what I find more disturbing…that there are still women who can’t think for themselves…or that perhaps that was a way for them to not say, “no”. Either way, it is perhaps as bad as what the oil companies stand to do to our beautiful country.

You know, I don’t consider myself an activist, nor even a fractivist….I just stumbled on to something that I couldn’t believe would be anything but harmful to the futures of my children and grandchildren.

I believe in water, I believe in this planet, and I believe that we are rapidly becoming a very destructive cancer to this planet. Whatever will we do without clean drinking water? We will die.                          

Perhaps that is the best thing after all. If human kind ceases to exist, perhaps the planet and the other beings will have a chance.

 

Leave a Reply

